Image: National TV Awards

The biggest stars in TV descended on The O2, London for the annual National Television Awards last night – as voted for by the British public.

The glitzy ceremony, hosted by Dermot O’Leary saw the gripping BBC1 series, The Body Guard steal the show, winning two gongs for Best New Drama and Drama Performance (Richard Madden – Sgt David Budd).  Emmerdale came out on top too, scooping two gongs for Best Newcomer (James Moore who plays Ryan Stocks) and the highly sought-after award Best Serial Drama.

Continuing their reign, Ant and Dec won best TV presenter for the 18th time in a row! The award came as a surprise for the duo, following Ant’s drink-driving charge and absence from our screens. In an emotional speech, Ant described the win as a “genuine shock” and dedicated the award to his “best mate” Declan Donnelly.

It was a triumph for Phillip Schofield and Holly Willoughby as This Morning bagged the Best Daytime award, and the gong for Best TV judge went to David Walliams.

Here’s the list of winners in full:

Best Factual Entertainment
Paul O’Grady: For the Love of Dogs

Best New Drama
The Bodyguard

Best Daytime
This Morning

Best Newcomer
James Moore – Ryan Stocks, Emmerdale

Best TV judge
David Walliams

Best Comedy
Peter Kay’s Car Share

Best Drama Performance
Richard Madden – Sgt David Budd, Bodyguard

Best Quiz Show
The Chase

The Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award
I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here!

Best Serial Drama Performance
Danny Dyer – Mick Carter, EastEnders

Best Drama
Peaky Blinders

Best TV Presenter
Ant & Dec

Best Talent Show
Strictly Come Dancing

Best Serial Drama

Please sign in or register to leave comments on this page.
Sign up to our newsletters
Follow Us!